Yes, Capitec has a student product. Its education loan page (titled Education Loan) describes a loan of up to R500 000 for tuition and educational expenses at any South African-registered institution, repayable over up to 84 months, with Capitec paying the institution directly. The exact eligibility rules depend on your credit profile, so treat the general credit requirements below as the starting point.

Capitec does not run a separate student account or charge special student fees. Students use the same account and fees as every other client.

Eligibility Requirements at a Glance

Approval is never guaranteed. Capitec assesses each applicant on their own credit profile.

Income and Affordability Requirements

Capitec’s general how to qualify for credit page sets out the income rules for its personal credit. Capitec does not state a minimum income for the education loan itself. A student with no income should ask Capitec whether a parent, guardian or sponsor can apply, because the page does not say.

Capitec must also run the affordability assessment required by the National Credit Act, which looks at income, expenses and existing debt. If you are under debt review, Capitec cannot give you credit.

Capitec’s youth banking page lists a separate product with its own test: a credit card for clients aged 18 to 24. Students need at least R1 750 paid into their account every month plus a registration letter from their institution. That applies to the card, not the education loan.

Credit and Financial Requirements

Your credit record affects approval and price. If you are a student with no credit history, expect the assessment to rely heavily on whoever is applying. The education loan page advertises a reduced interest rate but does not publish the rate, so ask for the rate and total cost of credit in writing before you sign.

Capitec says credit insurance is compulsory for all term loans. Ask whether it applies to your loan and what it adds to the instalment. Ask also when repayment starts, since a term loan may begin repayment before you finish studying.

Documents and Verification Required

For credit toward education costs, Capitec’s FAQs list these documents:

Capitec says no proof of residential address is needed, though you may be asked for supporting documents to complete the application. For study costs, also have your acceptance or registration letter ready.

How to Apply and Improve Approval Readiness

Capitec says you can apply for the education loan in the Capitec app, online or at a branch. Once your application is approved, Capitec says you approve a DebiCheck debit order and the money is paid directly to the institution. The credit cannot be used to settle an existing loan.

Apply for NSFAS and bursaries first, since they do not need to be repaid. See NSFAS requirements. Use bank credit only where funding is unavailable or does not cover the full cost.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much can a student loan be at Capitec?

Up to R500 000, repayable over up to 84 months, according to Capitec’s education loan page. The amount you get depends on your assessment. Capitec also offers an access facility for extra education expenses.

What are the Capitec student loan requirements?

You must be 18 or older with a valid SA ID or Smart ID card, and pass Capitec’s credit and affordability checks. Salary earners need three salary slips, plus a bank statement if not paid into Capitec, and a quote or invoice from a listed partner not older than 30 days.

Is there a dedicated student product at Capitec?

Yes. Capitec has an education loan for tuition and educational expenses at South African-registered institutions. It has no separate student account.

Do I have to be a Capitec client?

Capitec’s FAQs say you do not need to be a Capitec client to apply for credit toward education costs through its listed partners.

Who does the bank assess for a student loan?

The person who applies. Because students often have no income, ask Capitec whether a parent, guardian or sponsor can apply or co-sign.

Does the money pay the school directly?

Yes. Capitec says it pays the institution directly once the loan is approved.

When does repayment start?

Capitec does not state this on its page. Confirm it before signing, because it changes what you pay while you study.

This page is general information and not financial advice. Confirm current criteria, rates and terms with Capitec Bank directly. See loan requirements and browse all finance and funding requirements.