In South Africa, the registered rigging route is the Occupational Certificate: Rigger (SAQA ID 102856, NQF Level 4, curriculum code 651501-000-00-00), which covers basic, intermediate and advanced lifting. Learners must be medically fit to work at heights. Rigging courses are offered by providers accredited against the QCTO curriculum.
Check the status before you enrol: the SAQA record shows the qualification has passed its registration end date (30 December 2025), with a last date for enrolment of 30 December 2026 and a last date for achievement of 30 December 2029. Confirm with your provider that you can still enrol.
Entry Requirements at a Glance
- Qualification: Occupational Certificate: Rigger, NQF Level 4, minimum 559 credits, with originator MQA.
- Physical fitness: learners must be sighted, able to hear, medically fit to work at heights and free of any condition that would prevent working at height.
- Levels covered: basic lifting (Level 2), intermediate lifting (Level 3) and advanced lifting (Level 4).
- Accreditation: providers are accredited against the criteria in the QCTO curriculum.
Academic and Minimum Admission Requirements
The SAQA record does not state a school-leaving certificate or a minimum age. Instead, learners need Foundational Learning Competence to qualify for the external assessment. Ask the provider what it requires for admission, because it sets its own intake process.
Accredited providers and approved workplaces may recognise prior learning against the access requirements, and recognition of prior learning is allowed for access to the qualification and to the external assessment. If you already work with slings and lifting equipment, ask about it.
Subjects, APS and Qualification Requirements
No school subjects or APS are prescribed on the SAQA record. The qualification is made up of compulsory modules, including:
- Working at heights, scaffolding, fall protection systems and ladders
- Ropes and wire ropes, slinging and lifting equipment
- Advanced lifting methods
- Practical and work experience modules
A qualified learner can sling regular loads using basic lifting techniques, sling complex loads using intermediate methods and lift loads using advanced methods. If you are looking for a basic rigging course, the basic (Level 2) lifting content sits inside this qualification. Short stand-alone basic rigging courses are set by each provider, so ask the provider for its entry requirements, duration and price in writing.
Documents and Application Requirements
To enter the external assessment, you need proof that you completed all required modules (statements of results) and your work experience records, including the Foundational Learning Competence. Keep these safe throughout your training.
Other documents, such as ID copies or proof of medical fitness for work at heights, are asked for by the provider, so check its list before you apply. SAQA says you must be medically fit to work at heights, but it does not name a specific certificate.
Selection, Intake and Eligibility Considerations
- Check accreditation: providers are accredited against the QCTO curriculum, not just a SETA. Ask for the qualification’s SAQA ID (102856) and confirm the provider’s accreditation with the QCTO.
- Mind the dates: last enrolment is 30 December 2026, so enrol soon if you want this qualification.
- What it replaces: it replaced the older National Certificate: Mechanical Handling (Rigging) at Levels 2 and 3 and the FETC at Level 4 (SAQA IDs 59729, 59730 and 59731).
- Next step: the qualification articulates vertically to the National Certificate: Lifting Machinery Inspection at Level 5.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need matric for a rigging course?
The SAQA record for the Occupational Certificate: Rigger does not state a matric requirement. It requires Foundational Learning Competence for the external assessment, and providers set their own admission process, so ask yours.
What are the rigging course requirements for medical fitness?
Learners must be sighted, able to hear and medically fit to work at heights, with no disabling condition that would prevent working at height. Ask the provider what proof it needs.
How do I check a provider is accredited?
Providers are accredited against the QCTO curriculum criteria. Ask for the provider’s accreditation details and the SAQA ID 102856, and confirm with the QCTO.
Can I get credit for experience I already have?
Yes, possibly. Accredited providers and approved workplaces may recognise prior learning against the access requirements, and RPL is allowed for access and for the external assessment.
Is the rigging qualification still available?
The SAQA record shows the registration end date passed on 30 December 2025. Learners can still enrol until 30 December 2026 and achieve by 30 December 2029. Confirm availability with your provider.
Confirm the current status and accreditation with the SAQA register and the QCTO. See admission requirements and browse all education requirements.