Flavius Mareka courses and requirements depend on the programme. Flavius Mareka TVET College, a public college under the Department of Higher Education and Training with its head office in Sasolburg and campuses in Kroonstad and Mphohadi, offers NC(V) programmes at Levels 2 to 4 and Report 191 (NATED) programmes from N1 to N6. NC(V) Level 2 needs a Grade 9 certificate or equivalent; Report 191 N1 needs Grade 9 (part time) or a failed Grade 12 (full time), and N4 needs Grade 12.

Applications are online and you must complete a compulsory placement screening first. The sections below set out the entry rules the college publishes, the documents to upload and what to ask the admissions office before you apply.

Entry Requirements at a Glance

Academic and Minimum Admission Requirements

The college’s programmes fall into two streams. The NC(V) is offered at NQF Levels 2, 3 and 4 and combines theory with practical experience, in a workplace or a simulated workplace. Report 191 covers N1 to N3 and N4 to N6 Engineering Studies at one year per level group, and N4 to N6 Business and Utility Studies over three years (18 months of theory plus 18 months of workplace application), ending in an N6 Diploma, according to the college.

Flavius Mareka lists NC(V) programmes such as Civil and Engineering Construction, Electrical Infrastructure Construction, Engineering and Related Design, Generic Management, Office Administration, Transport and Logistics, Education and Development and Information Technology. See the college’s NC(V) courses page and Report 191 page for the full lists. If you are searching for Flavius Mareka TVET College courses by campus, ask the admissions office which campus offers the programme you want: Business programmes run at Sasolburg and Kroonstad, and Transport and Logistics at Kroonstad only.

Passing standards also differ by stream. For NC(V), the college states 50% in vocational subjects, 40% in languages and Life Orientation, and 30% in Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy, with a maximum of five years to complete a qualification. For Report 191, the pass mark is 40% in every subject; 30% in the final examination earns a supplementary examination, and at least 80% class attendance is required.

Subjects, APS and Qualification Requirements

Flavius Mareka does not state an APS (admission point score) for the programmes read for this page. Entry is by qualification level and, for some programmes, by subject results. Other TVET colleges may use points, so do not assume another college’s score applies here.

Documents and Application Requirements

The college’s How to Apply page says you apply online in three steps: explore career guidance, complete the compulsory Pre-Entry placement screening in the Profiler system, then submit the online application with your documents uploaded as PDFs. Placement screening is compulsory, but you may still choose your own course.

The How to Apply page lists no application fee. The Admission Office can be reached on 016 976 0829, and the central office is at C/O Fichardt & Bell Street, Sasolburg. If you have trouble with internet access, you can book an online application session at the college.

Applicants for NC(V) Level 2 should expect the placement test. The college states it is compulsory for new Level 2 students and that admission is not guaranteed even if you pass it.

Selection, Intake and Eligibility Considerations

The college’s home page shows a call for 2027 applications, but it does not state a closing date. Ask the Admission Office for the closing date and the current course fee list before you apply; the college links an NC(V) fee summary from its site.

Funding. The NSFAS TVET bursary covers students on NC(V) and Report 191 programmes at public TVET colleges. It is for South African citizens and has its own application process, so complete the NSFAS application as well as the college application.

Getting the N Diploma. Passing N6 does not issue a National N Diploma automatically. The Department of Higher Education and Training guide requires evidence of practical experience in a logbook: at least eighteen months or 2,000 hours for Business Studies, and two years or 2,670 hours for Engineering Studies. Start arranging the workplace component early.

Frequently Asked Questions

What courses does Flavius Mareka TVET College offer?

NC(V) programmes at Levels 2 to 4, Report 191 programmes (N1 to N6 Engineering Studies and N4 to N6 Business Studies), plus learnerships and occupational programmes. The full list is on the college’s website.

What are the requirements for Flavius Mareka?

NC(V) Level 2 needs Grade 9 or an equivalent, and Transport and Logistics adds 50% for Mathematics and Science and a placement test. Report 191 N1 needs Grade 9 (part time) or a failed Grade 12 (full time), and N4 needs Grade 12.

How do I apply to Flavius Mareka?

Apply online. Complete career guidance, then the compulsory placement screening, then the application, uploading your ID, results and proof of residence as PDFs. Follow the steps on the college’s How to Apply page.

Is there an APS for Flavius Mareka?

The college does not state one for the programmes read for this page. Admission is by qualification level and, for some programmes, specific subject results.

What is the difference between NC(V) and NATED?

NC(V) is the vocational stream at NQF Levels 2 to 4. NATED (Report 191) runs N1 to N6, and the Business N4 to N6 route ends in an N6 Diploma after workplace experience.

Does N6 give me a diploma?

Not on its own. A National N Diploma needs verified practical experience on top of N6: at least 18 months or 2,000 hours for Business Studies.

Can NSFAS fund TVET study?

Yes. NSFAS covers students on NC(V) and Report 191 programmes at public TVET colleges, for South African citizens. Apply to NSFAS as well as to the college.

Confirm current requirements, fees and closing dates with the Flavius Mareka Admission Office and NSFAS. See admission requirements and browse all education requirements.

Related Requirements