“Code 10” is an old driving-licence code, not a learner’s licence category. Today it corresponds to Code C1: medium-heavy trucks and buses with a GVM between 3,500 kg and 16,000 kg, minimum age 18. Learner’s licences are issued as Code 1 (motorcycles), Code 2 (vehicles up to 3,500 kg GVM) and Code 3 (over 3,500 kg GVM), so a learner’s licence for this class is applied for as Code 3.

To qualify you must be 18 on the date of the test, with ID, two photographs, proof of address, form LL1, an eye test and the booking fee, then pass the written test at a driving licence testing centre (DLTC). See the gov.za learner’s licence page for the national requirements.

Driver or Vehicle Requirements at a Glance

Licence and Eligibility Requirements

Searchers use “code 10” and “code 3 learners” for the same goal, but the labels refer to different things. The current driving licence codes on gov.za are:

The Western Cape Government’s learner’s licence page gives the old-to-new mapping: old Code 8 is B and old Code 14 is EC. The Western Cape table does not state minimum ages for some of the heavier codes, so confirm them with your licensing authority.

A learner’s licence is valid for 24 months and cannot be extended.

Vehicle, Inspection and Safety Requirements

The learner’s licence process includes an eye test, done at the testing centre, or by a qualified optometrist who completes the form you submit at the centre.

Whether the written test content differs for a heavy-vehicle learner’s licence is not stated on the official pages we checked, so ask your DLTC what the test covers for your code.

Driving for reward needs a professional driving permit (PrDP) on top of the licence. We did not verify PrDP requirements for this page, so confirm them with your licensing authority before planning commercial work.

Documents, PrDP or Supporting Evidence

Registration or Application Process

The City of Cape Town lists an application fee of R68 and an issue fee of R33 for Code 3, per its learner’s licence page. Fees differ by province and can change, so confirm at your DLTC.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a Code 10 learner’s licence?

Not under that name. Code 10 is the old name for what is now driving licence Code C1 (3,500 kg to 16,000 kg GVM, minimum age 18). You apply for the learner’s licence as Code 3.

What is a Code 3 learner’s licence?

It is the learner’s category for vehicles over 3,500 kg GVM. You must be 18 on the test date.

What are the Code 10 learners licence requirements?

Be 18, bring your ID, two photographs, proof of address and the booking fee, complete form LL1, do the eye test and pass the written test at a DLTC.

What is the minimum age?

18 for a Code 3 learner’s licence. The light-vehicle Code 2 learner’s licence is 17.

How long is the learner’s licence valid?

24 months, and it cannot be extended.

Does the licence let me drive commercially?

Driving for reward requires a professional driving permit as well. Confirm the requirements with your licensing authority.

Confirm current requirements, fees and booking arrangements with your local DLTC or licensing authority. See driving and transport requirements and rideshare driver requirements for related guidance.

Related Requirements